Courtney White Named IRSD Teacher of the Year
Courtney White Named IRSD Teacher of the Year
Posted on 04/27/2018

Courtney White of North Georgetown Elementary School has been selected as the Indian River School District’s Teacher of the Year for 2018-2019.

The announcement was made at the district’s annual Teacher of the Year celebration on April 26 at Indian River High School. White was chosen as the district’s overall winner from a pool of 16 candidates, one from each school. 

White has been a third-grade teacher at North Georgetown Elementary School since 2016. She was previously a second- and sixth-grade teacher in the Seaford School District from 2003-2016. She was the Seaford district’s Teacher of the Year in 2010-2011.

White holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from Goucher College, a Maryland State Elementary Education Certificate from the College of Notre Dame in Baltimore and a master’s degree in applied technology from Wilmington University.

During her career, White has been a Delaware Dream Team teacher in 2016, a TeachFest Delaware Spring Academy teacher in 2015 and the co-creator of the Personalized Virtual Summer and Intersession Academic Program at Central Elementary School in Seaford from 2014-2016. She has also been an adjunct professor in the Wilmington University graduate program (2010-2015), a mentor teacher for Wilmington’s student teaching program (2010-2016) and an educational technology teacher for the Delaware Tech certificate program (2004-2006).   

White has repeatedly earned praise from her colleagues and administrators for her use of technology in the classroom. This year, she implemented a video conferencing initiative with a third-grade teacher at another school to allow students in both classes to experience blended learning.  

“As a member of the North Georgetown Elementary community, Mrs. White is a leader and is well respected by her peers,” said North Georgetown Principal Heather Cramer. “There are many great educators in the Indian River School District that are more than worthy of this honor, but I have met few educators as passionate as Mrs. White. I feel she was an amazing addition to our district and we are lucky to have someone with the willingness to continue to learn and grow as an educator. Her classroom environment she has created is one that I wish my own child could have experienced.”

Teacher of the Year winners from each district school are as follows:

Mallory Anderson, Selbyville Middle School
Dara Callaway (Finalist), East Millsboro Elementary School
Kathryn Gichner Curl, Georgetown Kindergarten Center
Corrine Elliott, Howard T. Ennis School
Lori Hansen, Long Neck Elementary School
Sue Keefer, G.W. Carver Academy
Nichele Lobo, Southern Delaware School of the Arts
Joseph Macaluso, Sussex Central High School
Nate Mohler, Indian River High School
Brian Murphy, Georgetown Middle School
Kelly Namorato, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School
Christine Purcell, Georgetown Elementary School
Robert Syphard (Finalist), Millsboro Middle School
Jennah Truitt, Lord Baltimore Elementary School
Michelle Truitt, John M. Clayton Elementary School

As the district’s Teacher of the Year, White is now eligible for the state Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in October. 

Courtney White - Teacher of the Year
From left: Indian River Board of Education member James Hudson, Superintendent Mark Steele, 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year Lisa Richardson, 2018-2019 IRSD Teacher of the Year Courtney White, State Rep. Ruth Briggs King, State Rep. Rich Collins and State Rep. Ron Gray.

Courtney White
2018-2019 IRSD Teacher of the Year Courtney White.

Teachers of the Year 2018-2019
2018-2019 IRSD Teachers of the Year. Seated (from left): Christine Purcell, Nichele Lobo, Robert Syphard (finalist), Courtney White (overall winner), Dara Callaway (finalist), Kathryn Curl and Sue Keefer. Standing (from left): Brian Murphy, Kelly Namorato, Nathan Mohler, Joseph Macaluso, Corrine Elliott, Lori Hansen, Jennah Truitt and Michelle Truitt. Not pictured: Mallory Anderson.