Special Education Task Force

The purpose of the IRSD Special Education Task Force is to examine current practices through system transparency in order to strengthen operations. This process will:

  • Identify current systematic challenges,
  • Develop a priority framework based on students and families,
  • Increase knowledge of and adherence to federal guidelines that impact services across all facets of operation for this division.

Task Force Members
Dr. Heather M. Statler, Indian River Board of Education, Chairperson
Laura Hattier, Indian River School District
Regena Izzo, Indian River School District
Kelley Collins-Vickers, Lord Baltimore Elementary School
Jesse Steele, Selbyville Middle School
Leigh Argo, Millsboro Middle School
Sally Benner, Indian River High School
Page Lyons, Howard T. Ennis School

For more information about the task force, contact Board of Education member Dr. Heather M. Statler at

SETF comments and suggestions

Click on the envelope to send your comments and suggestions to the Special Education Task Force.

Check back here for Parent Focus Group meeting dates for 2018-2019!

Heather Statler
Dr. Heather M. Statler